SEPTEMBER 26-28, 2000

Organized by:Computer Network Research Group, Federal University of Ceará-UFC
Co-sponsored by: IFIP Working Group 6.4 and 6.6 and IEEE Communications Society

Scope :

Today, the trend is towards providing telecommunications services and in particular multimedia services in the emerging broadband, multimedia and "super-highway" era. To offer reliable multimedia services, the service architecture should integrate the service with its management while the multimedia networks that are used to provide those services need also a certain level of control and management. Therefore management is requested at both the service and network levels. Integration is also of paramount importance to facilitate the overall management process. The third International Conference on Management of Multimedia Networks and Services follows the successful MMNS conference held in 1998 in Versaille (France). The conference objective is to bring together researchers working in all facets of network and service management applied to broadband networks and multimedia services. The conference will serve as a forum for the dissemination of state-of-the-art research, design, development, and implementation experiences.



Topics of Special Interest :

Areas of interest include, but are not limited to:

* Multimedia services specification, validation and management (e.g. Broadband VPN, Video on demand, tele-teaching, etc...)

* Distributed management of multimedia services

* Multimedia service and network management integration

* Multimedia network management models and architectures

* Mobility management in multimedia networks and systems

* Resource management in broadband networks

* Performance and Fault Management for broadband networks

* Billing and Security for broadband networks

* Integration of broadband network control and management

* Management of multimedia wireless networks and services

* Quality of service management

* Policy-Driven Management

* Standards Frameworks and Issues for broadband networks management: OSI, IETF, ITU-T, TINA, EURESCOM, ETSI, ATM-Forum, etc...

* New software technologies for multimedia service and network management (Corba, JAVA, Mobile Agents)

* AI techniques for network and service management (Intelligent Agents, Expert Systems, etc...)

* Trials, case studies and experiences



Important Information for Authors :

Submissions should be written in English, double-spaced and no longer than 5,000 words. A separate cover sheet must be included which provides the following information: title of paper, authors' names and affiliations, contact author's name and address (both postal and electronic), a ten-line abstract, keywords, and submission area (from the list of relevant topics of interest).

Please submit the paper electronically. (EXPIRED)

· by html form.

· by mail to

· by mail to

Electronic submissions should be in postscript format which may be compressed (using Unix compress) and uuencoded. In the case where electronic submission is impossible please send 4 hard copies of your paper by Postal mail to the following address :


Europe and Asia America, Africa and Australia
José Neuman de Souza Raouf Boutaba
Universidade Federal do Ceara Universite of Waterloo
Computer Science Department Department of Computer Science
Campus do Pici, Bloco 910 200 University Avenue West
60455-760 - Fortaleza-Ceara, Brazil Waterloo, Ontario N2L 3G1, Canada
Tel./Fax : +55 85 2889847 Phone (519)888-4567 Fax (519)885-1208


Authors of accepted papers will be asked to submit a camera-ready manuscript that will appear in the Conference proceedings published by Kluwer Academic Publishers. Also selected papers will be considered for publication as a special issue of the Journal of Network and System Management on Multimedia Networks and Services Management and in Interoperable Communication Networks journal.



Important Dates :

Today : send a message stating your intention to submit a paper or stating your general interest in the conference to

Electronic and hard copy paper submission deadline : January 30, 2000
Notification of acceptance : March 31, 2000
Camera-ready manuscripts due : April 30, 2000



General co-chair :

José Neuman de Souza, Federal U. of Ceara, Brazil Raouf Boutaba, U. of Waterloo, Canada


Program Committee:

Salah Aidarous, NEC America, USA
James W. Hong, POSTECH, Korea
Mohamed Bettaz, Philadelphia University, Amman, Jordan
Guy Pujolle U. of Versailles, France
Jean Pierre Claudé, U. of Versailles, France
Yves Raynaud, U. Paul Sabatier, France
Dominique Gaiti, U. of Troyes, France
Jan Roos, U. of Pretoria, South Africa
Leon A. Garcia, U. of Toronto, Canada
Izhak Rubin, UCLA, USA
Abdelhakim Hafid, Bellcore, NJ, USA
Roberto Saracco, CSELT, Italy
Jean-Pierre Hubaux, EPFL, Switzerland
Rolf Stadler, CTR/Columbia U., USA
Farouk Kamoun, ENSI, Tunisia
Ralph Steinmetz, GMD IPSI & Darmstadt U., Germany
Ahmed Karmouch, U. of Ottawa, Canada
Yechiam Yemini, Columbia U., USA
Kenichi Kitami, NTT, Japan
Wolfgang Zimmer, GMD FIRST, Germany
Jacques Labetoulle, Eurecom, France
Simon Znaty, ENST-Bretagne, France
Subrata Mazumdar, Bell Laboratories, USA
Joberto S. Martins, UNIFACS, Brazil
Jose N. de Souza, U. Fed. do Ceara, Brazil
Nicolas Georganas, University of Ottawa, Canada
Giovanni Pacifici, IBM T.J.Watson Research Center, USA
Emil Lupu, Imperial College, UK
Douglas N. Zuckerman, Telcordia Technologies, USA
Andrew Campbell, Columbia University, USA
Michael A. Stanton, U. Fed. Fluminense, Brazil
Jose M. Nogueira, U. Fed. Minas Gerais, Brazil
Ehab Al-Shaer, DePaul University, Chicago, IL, USA Joaquim Celestino Júnior, UECE, Ceará, Brazil
Raouf Boutaba, University of Waterloo, Canada  




Organization Committee:

Cris Amon Rocha Marcelo Alcântara Marcos Frota Jorge Luis de C. Silva
Adalto S. Correia Filho Erick Donato Daniel Braga